maha yogi patanjali
founder of yoga.

The word yoga refers to a multifaceted array of beliefs and practices. Yoga is twinned with sāṃkhya as one of the six orthodox darshanas (worldviews) of Hindu philosophy, with Patañjali’s Yogaśāstra having been codified by around the 5th century of the Common Era. A distinct body of texts known as the haṭhayoga corpus appears around the 11th century and emphasizes physical practices most likely used by ascetic communities. The ultimate aim of yoga is described by various words (e.g., kaivalya, samādhi, mokṣa, etc.); it is often described as an experience of an individual soul’s uniting with the divine, and/or becoming liberated from the material world. These historical precedents have continuities with contemporary yoga practices, and for many Indians today, yoga is understood as the essence of Indian spirituality. Yoga, however, took on new meanings in the late colonial period, becoming a mental, physical, and ethical discipline to aid in the struggle for an independent Indian nation state; a scientific, evidence-based practice to improve health and well-being; and a template for the evolution of an individual as well as humanity as a whole. At the same time, yoga kept an association with liberation and the realization of the ultimate nature of reality. In the early 21st century, all these meanings remain current in the Indian context, where yoga is continuing to experience a revival. In India, yoga is understood as a unique and valuable cultural resource that has the potential to revitalize both an individual’s health and the Indian nation-state, being an exemplar of the unique insights that Indian traditions can give to the rest of the world. Despite a notable shift in what is understood by yoga in the modern period, yoga continues to be a multivalent and increasingly popular practice in contemporary India.

The word Yoga means…Union/Join/Reconnection

Union/combination of the breath & mind, Body & mind, Inner self & over self, Inner Consciousness & supreme consciousness.

Maharshi Patanjali founded yoga 10,000 years ago.

Definition of yoga is …"Resisting the routine wanderings / thoughts of the mind" {Yogaha chittavritti nirodhaha}.

There are eight limbs in the science of yoga.

  • Yama : Universal morality.
  • Niyama : Personal observances.
  • Asanas : Body postures. (what we usually think of as 'yoga’)
  • Pranayama : Breathing exercise and control of prana.
  • Pratyahara : Control of the senses.
  • Dharana : Concentration and cultivating inner perceptual awareness.
  • Dhyana : Devotion, Meditation on the Divine.
  • Samadhi : Union with the Divine.


These are ordered - and they start with yama and niyama: morality and restraints.

In other words: do's and don'ts.

Yama - yoga don'ts Restraints.

The path of ashtanga yoga described in the Yoga Sutras starts with yama; things to avoid, or restrain yourself in.

Ahimsa-Harmlessness/Non violence.



Aparigraha-Neutralizing the desire to acquire and hoard wealth.

Brahmacharya- (Sense-control)This implies sexual responsibility for real yogis, in other words focusing on the eternal things.

Niyama - yoga do's.


Samtosa-being content,happiness.


Swadhyaya-The study of sacred texts and introspective self-study or self-analysis.

Isvarapranidhana-Living with an awareness of the Divine and Devotion to It.

Asana : “ Sthiram sukhamasnam ”

While doing meditation or yoga the posture should be stable & comfortable.

Pranayama:Prana means breath/life,Yama means control or regulation.

Controlling the flow of prana/breath by observing the natural flow of the breath.

Pratyahara:Prati + Ahara,Prati means opposite/substitution Ahara means food.

While controlling the breath.. our senses will be controlled.

So, we can absorb some energy called as pranic / cosmic / psychic energy which can substitute our routine food.

Dharana:Dharana means obtaining / wearing /getting started.

Due to the flow of energy all hidden powers & senses will be activated like Memory, Concentration, Thought power, Talk power & Third eye visions.

Dhyana(Meditation):Devotion,Meditation on the Divine .

Dhi + Yana

Dhi means “ The combination of the Astral,Causal&Supra causal bodies(subtle bodies).

Yana means “ journey ” or “travel”.

So, Dhyana ( Meditation ) means “ Travel to the alternate realities & dimensions with our subtle bodies.

Samadhi:The state where your self is satisfied completely/the state where you become one with the whole Universe/ Enlightenment/Union with the Divine.